Concord Hill School was founded in 1965 by local
educators Olivia Chappell, Nancy Israel, deVismes Lee, and Katherine Shorb as a nondenominational, nonprofit, pre-elementary school.
Originally located in Satterlee Hall at St. Alban’s Parish Church in Washington, DC, the school began with 20 students in Primary (Pre-Kindergarten) and Kindergarten classes.
Concord Hill moved to Bradley Hills Presbyterian Church in 1967 and added Grades 1 through 3. In 1972, the school relocated to St. John’s Church in Chevy Chase and added a Preprimary class.
In July 1987, after renting space for years, the school acquired a home of its own at the former Bethesda Christian Church at 6050 Wisconsin Avenue, Chevy Chase, MD. The facility was built in 1954, with an educational wing added in 1959. Concord Hill welcomed students to their new classrooms for the 1988-89 school year after completing extensive renovations to the building.
Eleanor Chatfield-Taylor began her tenure as Director of Concord Hill School in 1967. She oversaw the move to St. John’s Church and the ultimate relocation to the new Wisconsin Avenue address. Mrs. Chatfield-Taylor retired in 1991.
French McConnaughey assumed the role of school Director in July 1991 and continued in that post until her retirement in July 2002. In 1996, under her direction, Concord Hill developed its first strategic long-range plan. The process reaffirmed the school’s strengths and mapped a solid plan for the future. Building renovations completed during the summer of 1998 improved the school library and music room and added a new computer lab. Renovations undertaken in the summer of 1999 targeted the playground and school grounds.
In 2002, Denise Gershowitz was named Head of School. During her 14 year tenure, her love of children, high standards, and incredible energy helped CHS to continue strengthening its position as a respected educational institution with a faculty of experts in early childhood and development. The curriculum broadened to include Spanish and a defined social curriculum. The community of children, parents, and faculty enjoyed increased diversity with the help of a growing Financial Aid program. Under Mrs. Gershowitz's leadership, the school's Endowment increased from nearly $500,000 to over $2 million.
In July 2016, The Board of Trustees named James Carroll the fourth Head of School. James brought with him 17 years of teaching experience, several years of administrative and management experience, and a passion for early childhood education.
In February, 2018, Concord Hill School announced the search for our fifth Head of School, to be appointed July 2019. In the interim, Susan Arzt, Assistant Head of School/Director of Admission & Financial Aid, will serve as Acting Head of School.